Testimonials & Reviews

4.92/5

Helmuth Billy, MD

Bariatric Surgeons located in Ventura, CA

105 total reviews

Helmuth Billy, MD always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 105 reviews with an average rating of 4.92 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Helmuth Billy, MD below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Zuri I.
Submitted 06/12/18
Always get the best attention and service provided by every individual in Dr Billy's team
Amy S.
Submitted 06/01/18
As always I was treated with a friendly comfortable atmosphere. I saw Michele when I first got there and then Dr. Billy and they got me in and out very quickly. Dr. Billy Was very informative regarding my situation. And I would highly recommend Dr. Billy’s Office.
Karen C.
Submitted 05/22/18
Dr. Billy listens and cares about what you think. Very personable and enthusiastic about helping his patients.
Irina M.
Submitted 05/10/18
I appreciated
Braden M.
Submitted 05/05/18
Saved my life
Davia S.
Submitted 05/04/18
Dr. Billy has been my Dr. since 2001. He was fantastic! I developed a problem really early which was completely my fault, he knew exactly what to do. My outcome was perfect. Recently I’ve had some issues and he has been kind, attentive and problem solving. My only choice
Jill C.
Submitted 04/19/18
All my questions were answered. Everyone at the office is very helpful.
Michael M.
Submitted 04/19/18
Very professional, caring office. Was a great visit. DR. Billy was very helpful in getting me information on all avenues I could take.
Gicela C.
Submitted 04/12/18
Staff are very polite and patient
Janice H.
Submitted 04/10/18
Exceptional interaction with staff! Dr Billie is really committed to helping you. The first meeting made me feel so reassured. He is easy to talk to and is not judgmental. So far, so (very) good!
Diana J.
Submitted 04/08/18
Maria G.
Submitted 04/01/18
Dr Billy explained the process and gave me time to process the information. Available to answer any questions
Nichole N.
Submitted 03/23/18
He's thorough, will explain it whatever you need him to in as great or short detail as you need. He thinks ahead for your next encounter while in the moment to ensure the best possible care will be given at all times. He isn't about unnecessary procedures or tests - he's about doing what works, thinking outside the box & most importantly positive results. He and his staff are just fantastic!
Gerri M.
Submitted 03/16/18
Dr Billy is excellent. He explained everything he was going to do and talked through his findings. Very good experience.
Marilyn V.
Submitted 03/04/18
I didn't have to wait too long. dr. Billy went over my lab tests with me and was able to give me a good report. He made a couple of recommendations that I can work on and I told him what tests are coming up for me. I will see him again in six months with new labs and the next steps at that time.
Diana J.
Submitted 02/23/18
I appreciate the time Dr Billy takes to explain everything. He’s amazing!
Frances G.
Submitted 04/27/17
on April 5, 2016 I had gastric bypass, at my heaviest weight of 235lbs being 5"1" in height, i suffered from back pain and hip pain, swollen knees, foot pain, had bad acid reflux, and my bmi was at 44.5 that's morbidly obese, i went to my first seminar back in January 2016, and that's when I made my decision, although I kept trying to back out, when my doctor said he'd get me a referral to dr billy I cried like a baby, I was so ashamed and disappointed in myself , after talking with my husband, he was on track with me, after he saw me in so much pain for so many years, he encouraged me to go through it, now at 105lbs lighter, weighing 130lbs I feel amazing, my family history is diabetes, renal failure, high cholesterol, strokes I've had family members pass away from these diseases and just recently lost my mom from diabetes, i thank god for this chance and the opportunity to make this life change, dr billy and his staff are so amazing and so caring of what is good for you, they call to check up on you, and always answer back phone calls, this saved my life, i was on borrowed time, the pain is gone, the mood is calmer, happy and more active, Ive learned alot about myself through this whole process, It can't hurt you but help you
TRISHA S.
Submitted 12/27/16
I attended my first seminar in 2011 regarding weight loss surgey at Dr. Billy's. I had always told myself that I could lose the weight on my own without surgery with dieting and exercising. In 2012 I was diagnosed with PCOS and realized that losing weight was a lot harder due to PCOS and already being heavy. I made one of the best decisions in my life and started my Pre-Op appointments in December 2015. I had Gastric Sleeve performed in July 2016 and have been enjoying my life in so many more ways. Thank you Dr. Billy & Staff for all the help and support during my journey. Thank you for giving me a life that I love and excited for what the future holds.
Lisa C.
Submitted 07/20/16
Look no further, he is the best. He truly had my health and best interest at heart. This is no "one and done " practice. He is as pationate about your weight loss as you are. His staff is exceptional as well. Current gastric bypass surgery patient. Very recently and feeling great. 40 pounds down already ! Dr Billy, will help you shed the pounds and allow the real you to shine through !!! Very happy patient :-)
Nancy B.
Submitted 05/23/16
50 yrs of obesity . . . yes all my life. I had severe sleep apnea with a C-PAP machine set at 14 cm of pressure with 2 liters of oxygen in order to get proper sleep. I took Neurontin for neuropathy pain in my arms and legs, 2 medications for high blood pressure, medication for diabetes, 2 antidepressants 1 at night and different one for day time, Vioxx, 2 inhalers plus 3 to 4 (750mg) of Vicodin a day for all the other aches and pains. Besides the arthritis in my neck, hips, and knees I also have bone spurs in my lower back and both heels. I went to my PCP, Dr Carolyn Chase, and asked her to please help me, I was physically and mentally drained from my obesity, and afraid I wouldn’t live much longer if I didn’t get help. She told me of a (then) new doctor in town named Dr. Helmuth T. Billy who specializes in bariatric surgery. I went with tears in my eyes asking him to please help me because I wanted to live longer and be healthy so I could enjoy my wonderful husband and grandchildren. He said that I was super morbidly obese with a BMI of 52 and qualified to have the procedure. On January 21, 2003 at 11:30 a.m. Sara Reyes, RN held my hand to start me on the best day of my healthy new life. With my great support system Donald (husband), Sara Reyes RN, Dr Billy and the rest of his staff I know I can enjoy everything and do anything I choose to do. One thing I enjoy the most, besides my family, is giving back to anyone who wants to know about this wonderful gift I have and to support all of them through the process of having bariatric surgery. Life is brief and very fragile, and only loaned to us for awhile. Thank God I woke up in time to enjoy a wonderful life.

Insurance

Ventura Advanced Surgical Associates is a preferred provider with many health plans including Blue Cross, Blue Shield, Health Net PPO, Gold Coast MediCal, and others. Dr. Billy is also a provider with Kaiser Permanente Southern California. You must contact Heather Jacobsen regarding bariatric surgery and insurance coverage. She can also answer questions regarding our billing policies. You can reach Heather by email at heather.jacobsen@drbillybariatrics.com or by phone. Please leave her a detailed message and she will get back to you. Heather Jacobsen, Insurance and Billing Specialist: 805-676-9100 x118.

Blue Shield
Health Net
Kaiser Permanente